Following the recent elections of a new Board, the Canadian Federation of Library Associations/Fédération canadienne des associations de bibliothèques wishes to congratulate National Librarian Leslie Weir on her election as President-Elect of the International Federation of Library Associations.

IFLA’s work is critical to creating an united library sector internationally. As president for the 2023-2025 term, Leslie and the Governing Board in the management of the Federation and providing strategic leadership to the international library community.

In addition to Leslie, there is a strong Canadian presence amongst IFLA’s governance leadership and committees. CFLA-FCAB extends its congratulations and gratitude to the following individuals for representing the Canadian Library voice in the international community through participation at IFLA:

North American Regional Councillors:
Camille Callison, Andrea Cecchetto, Loubna Ghaouti, Susan Haigh, Diane Koen, Amber Lanno, Vivian Lewis, Pilar Martinez, Francesco Manganiello, Shawn Mitchell

Special Interest Groups: Committee Members:
Julie Anderson – Artificial Intelligence
Joseph Hafner – LGBTQ Users
Guoying (Grace) Liu – Library Publishing
Dr. Mohamed Teher – Religions, Libraries and Dialogue
Sarah Parker – Science and Technology Libraries

Advisory Committee Members:
Christina de Castell – Copyright & Legal Matters; and on Freedom of Access to Information and Freedom of Expression
Ry Moran – Cultural Heritage
Victoria Owen, Pat Riva, Christine Oliver – Standards
Donald Taylor – Document Delivery & Resource Sharing Committee

Professional Section Members:
Ramina Mukundan – Acquisition and Collection Development
Casey Hoeve – Acquisition and Collection Development
Vivian Lewis – Education and Training
Amanda Wakaruk – Copyright and Other Legal Matters
Camille Callison – Indigenous Matters
Kirk MacLeod – Indigenous Matters
Silvia Vong – Knowledge Management
Sonia Smith – Law Libraries
Nathalie Soini – Libraries for Children and Young Adults
Carolyne Ménard – Library and Research Services for Parliaments
Suzanne Payette – Library Buildings and Equipment
Debbie Schachter – Library Theory and Research
Jeannie Bail – Management and Marketing
Micheline Brûlé – Management of Library Associations
Colleen Cook – Statistics and Evaluation
Shawn Mitchell – Statistics and Evaluation
Christine Brown – Statistics and Evaluation
Stacy Allison-Cassin – Subject Analysis and Access

Indigenous Matters Standing Committee
Stacy Allison-Cassin – Chair
Collence Chisita – Secretary
Raj Kumar – Information Coordinator
Cellia Joe-Olsen – Member
Cindy Hohl – Member
Feather Maracle – Member
Jacinta Beckwith – Member
Jade Alburo – Member
Leif Mårtensson – Member
Mark Puente – Member
Melissa Minds VandeBurgt – Member
Mohit Garg – Member
Rebecca Bateman – Member
Sandy Littletree – Member
Stephen E. Stratton – Member
Yuzuru Tonai – Member

For more information about IFLA, visit their website. CFLA-FCAB looks forward to collaborating with international partners including IFLA towards a shared vision of a strong, cohesive library sector.

Thank you to all who ran including those who were not elected this year- we still hope to see your name on future ballots. Other names will be added once the run-off elections have completed. If you are a Canadian librarian serving on IFLA and don’t see your name please contact us at to be added.