W. Kaye Lamb Award for Service to Seniors

Now is the time for Canadian libraries to tell us about their outstanding service to seniors.

Every other year, the Federation of Canadian Library Associations / Fédération canadienne des associations de bibliothèques  and ExLibris invite Canadian libraries to be considered for the W. Kaye Lamb Award.

The award is given to that library which offers innovative and excellent service to their senior population. The winner will be recognized at their regional library association’s general meeting and receive an award of $500. Past winners have included the Ajax Public Library and the Calgary Public Library.

This award is given in honour of William Kaye Lamb, the first National Librarian of Canada, Dominion Archivist and eminent historian (1904 – 1999).

Purpose of the Award

This award recognizes a library that has developed an ongoing service, program or procedure of benefit to seniors and/or a design and organization of buildings or facilities that improve access and encourage use by seniors. The award will be presented biennially when merited.


Any Canadian public, academic or special library is eligible for this award.


This award is presented biennially (every two years) when merited. The deadline for this year’s award is Thursday, September 30, 2021.

Award Presentation

A representative of Ex Libris will present a suitably mounted framed certificate and a monetary award of $500 at the annual (2018) conference of the winning library’s regional library association.

The Canadian Federation of Library Associations / Fédération canadienne des associations de bibliothèques acknowledges with thanks the generous support of the Ex Libris Association in sponsorship of this award.

Application Procedure

Please provide:

  1. Name of the library.
  2. A statement of the service or facility of benefit to the senior population served by the library.
  3. Descriptive material such as photographs, promotional or advertising materials used, articles or news items published may be included with the application to indicate the ongoing success of the project.
  4. The application might include architectural drawings, details of the equipment used and an outline of the effect on staffing and budget.
  5. The name of a contact person, telephone number, fax, e-mail, etc.

Selection Procedure

A board committee of ExLibris will review the submissions and make a recommendation to the executives of both organizations for approval. The winner will be announced via listservs, websites and social media.

Nominations should be forwarded to:

WKLAward@cfla-fcab.ca with the subject heading: W. Kaye Lamb Award Jury

Sponsored by the Ex Libris Association and the Canadian Federation of Library Association/Fédération canadienne des associations de bibliothèques


Questions or Comments?

If you have questions, comments, or are interested in participating in this effort, please contact us!