CFLA-FCAB’s first annual general meeting is now complete. Our thanks to all of our member associations for their ongoing support of our work, and to OLA for hosting the meeting at the OLA Super Conference and online.


All of CFLA-FCAB’s member associations voted on the resolutions presented to the membership at the meeting. The results of the votes are as follows:

Resolution 2017–01: The membership acknowledges that they have received the unaudited financial statements for May 16 to August 31, 2016. Passed unanimously.

Resolution 2017–02: The membership accepts the Board recommendation to select Clarke Henning, LLP, as Public Accountants for the 2017 fiscal year. Passed unanimously.

Resolution 2017–03: The membership accepts the slate of candidates nominated in accordance with the bylaws to serve on the Board of Directors. Passed unanimously. The directors elected to the permanent Board are:

  • Peter Bailey (2017–2018)
  • Donna Bourne-Tyson (2017–2019)
  • Camille Callison (2017–2019)
  • Robin Canuel (2017–2019)
  • Carole Laguë (2017–2018)
  • John Mutford (2017–2018)
  • Shelagh Paterson (2017–2018)
  • Kathryn Rose (2017–2019)
  • Alix-Rae Stefanko (2017–2018)
  • Paul Takala (2017–2018)
  • Daphne Wood (2017–2019)

Resolution 2017–04: The members ratify the adoption of the guidelines and position papers endorsed by the Interim Board. Passed unanimously.

Committee Reports

The Truth and Reconciliation Committee completed its mandate and delivered a report to the Board at the AGM including a range of recommendations and resources for the library community to use when addressing Indigenous (First Nations, Métis, and Inuit) matters. This material will be made available at the CFLA-FCAB website in the near future, and includes 10 overarching recommendations for further action by CFLA-FCAB. The Board would like to thank all the members of the Committee for their hard work and extraordinary dedication over the last few months.

Following the AGM, the Board voted to endorse the recommendation by the Committee to form a standing Committee on Indigenous Matters to build on the work accomplished to date.

The Copyright Committee delivered its initial report, including a set of proposed revisions to the committee charter and the required structure to support the committee’s work moving forward. The Board would like to thank the committee for their work. The Board has voted to accept the revised Committee Charter.

Board of Directors

On behalf of the library community across Canada, the Board of Directors of CFLA-FCAB would like to offer our thanks to Annette Defaveri, Trecia Schell, and Sonia Smith for their service on the interim Board and would like to recognize the vital role they played in enabling the Federation to reach this milestone.

We are excited to welcome Robin Canuel, John Mutford, and Kathryn Rose to the Board and look forward to working with them

Following the AGM, the Board voted to select the members of our Executive. Peter Bailey was elected Chair of the Board, Paul Takala as Vice-Chair. Shelagh Paterson and Alix-Rae Stefanko were re-elected as Treasurer and Secretary, respectively. The Board would like to thank Donna Bourne-Tyson for her leadership during the last six months as interim Co-Chair.


Finally, thank to everyone who came to join us at our first Annual General Meeting! We were surprised and pleased to see how many people came to hear about our accomplishments this year and ask us about our future plans. Your support and your enthusiasm for libraries and library values will be critical in the years to come, and we will be working hard to ensure that your voice is heard at the national and international level.